Being Mummy

Being a Mum has opened my eyes to the real meaning of fear, joy, and love. I didn’t know what it was to be afraid, until I was responsible for the life of another person. I had no idea how overwhelmed I would be with the beauty of such a tiny human being. My baby has taught me so many things about myself, and about life. Life with a baby is full of thousands of tiny moments. Some moments take your breath away, some moments make you laugh till you cry, and some moments you wish you could freeze in time forever.  She changes and grows so fast that I never feel like I can keep up. As a Mum I am always trying to do more, be more, but all my daughter needs is for me to be there. To love her.

Baby and me

The way I love my daughter, is different to the way you love your children. I live my life, and you live yours. But as a Mum, there is somehow a connection that only we can understand. It is that relentless drive, that deepest longing of our hearts, to nurture, protect and cherish our children. Like me, maybe you are still kissing chubby baby toes, and tickling little tummies till their laughter nearly brings you to tears of joy. Or maybe like my Mum, you have farewelled some of your babies, as they have grown and flown the nest faster than you could blink. Maybe you are somewhere stuck in the middle, just trying to make sense of the crazy, overwhelming job called motherhood.

I want to encourage you, encourage me, just take the next step. That is all that is required of us. We can’t guarantee anything in this life, save for the One who will never leave us nor forsake us. All He asks of us is to follow, and take the next step.

To this you were called, because Christ suffered for you, leaving you an example, that you should follow in His steps.

~ 1 Peter 2:21 NIV

Leave a Reply

