Will it make me happy?

I was reading in Colossians 3 for my devotions this morning, and part of verse 5 really impressed itself upon me. “Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature…greed, which is idolatry”.

Greed. Is idolatry. It hit me as I went over that phrase several times. I had to ask myself, is this something that needs to be ‘put to death’ in my life? The uncomfortable truth is yes, it most certainly does.

I thought about how that verse breaks down in my life and realised that I’m always thinking about how improving my material situation will be “so much better than where I’m at because ——–“.

It made me stop. Are any of those material things really going to do what I expect them to do? Are they really going to satisfy me deep down?

If I’m honest, that’s what I’m looking for. The next thing that will make me happy, satisfy that hunger for more, and then I’ll be able to fully enjoy my life.

How foolish and sinful my mind can be! While none of the ‘stuff’ that I desire is actually wrong, or sinful, my constant obsession and false hope of satisfaction is nothing short of insulting to my Heavenly Father.

The truth is, if stuff is where I’m looking for satisfaction, I will never, ever be satisfied.

I believe the root cause of my dissatisfaction is so much deeper. I need Jesus Christ, the lover of my soul, to fill me and satisfy me.

If I go to Colossians 3:2-3, I find the answer. “Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God.” Wow! What a promise! When I became a believer, my life became hidden in Christ. Does that mean my life is filled with incredible blessings that cannot be seen? I think so.

Contentment, satisfaction, peace, joy. These are the fruits of knowing that I have an eternal inheritance, and whatever I do or don’t have in physical belongings will all become totally insignificant when I am sharing eternity with my Lord.

Does this mean ‘stuff’ doesn’t matter to me anymore? Absolutely not! Nor am I miraculously content, satisfied, or peaceful. However, I’ve just been reminded that each baby step I take in choosing to think these things is a step towards a life more honouring to my Heavenly Father. And I’ve been reminded that I do have an eternal home, which is going to be fantastic!

IMGP4732

Leave a Reply

